2006-08-17 / News

Historical society elects new officers

At its annual meeting held Aug. 10 at the Jamestown library, the Jamestown Historical Society re-elected Rosemary Enright and Harry Wright as president and vice president, respectively for the 2006-2007 term.

Marion Pierce will continue as treasurer and Dick Allphin, currently a member of the board of directors, will replace Jane Miner as secretary.

New board members elected for a three-year term are Greg DiGasper and Mary Heath. Deborah Foppert was selected to complete the last two year's of Dick Allphin's term.

Following the short business meeting, John A. Murphy, the featured speaker, talked about summer living in Jamestown in the 1950s as a young child. He presented a much simpler life.

With no television and a crowded household, most of the summer days were spent outside on the beach swimming, exploring, rowing, and crabbing. The talk was videotaped and will become part of the historical society's oral history collection.

Return to top