2007-06-28 / News

Lawn Avenue School students honored

Jamestown students from the Lawn Avenue School received honors on Awards Day, which was held June 21 at the school. Receiving awards at the ceremony were:

The Americanism Award: Liliane Flour and Christian Tiexiera; The Founder's Award: Victoria Delmonico and Andrew Waddington; The Overall Excellence in English Award: Kaitlin Marquis and Caia Diepenbrock; The Excellence in Science Award: Liliane Flour and Eric Holtzman; The Excellence in Mathematics Award: Kaitlin Marquis and Jacqueline Tanguay. The Excellence in Foreign Languages Award: Ashley Dougherty; The Excellence in World Languages Award: Philip Ryng. The Excellence in Social Studies Award: Kaitlin Marquis and Eric Holtzman.

Additional awards were: The Good Citizenship Award: Caia Diepenbrock and Wesley Barber; Ida Richard's Warrior Heart: Ashlin Gillis and Mark Tiexiera; The Principal's Award: Anne Langan and Andrew Sakovits; The Mary Stearns McGaughan Compassion towards Animals Award: 1st Place: Jacqueline Tanguay, 2nd Place: Nathaniel Pease, 3rd Place: Noah Robinson, Honorable Mentions: Benjamin North and Dylan Vogel; The Technology Award: Grade 7, Nicholas Fay, Grade 8, Kaitlin Marquis. The Excellence in Fine Arts/Marc Frade Award: Liliane Flour and Eric Holtzman; The Rhode Island Art Educators Association Awards: Grade 5, Sarah Bonnot, Madeline Brown, Isabel Crabtree and Benjamin Steward; Grade 6, Sydney Pazera and Rossibel Kurz, Grade 7, Kelsey Britto, Zachary Henning and Jacob Gomez, Grade 8, Liliane Flour and Casey Brown.

The First Lego League Awards: Hannah Cordes, Caia Diepenbrock, Christian Tiexiera, Carla Aveledo, Noah Robinson, Andrew Sakovits, Megan Salt, Clay Caswell, Wesley Barber, Catherine Matley, Julia Hansen, Anne Langan, Kaitlin Marquis, Ashlin Gillis, Eric Holtzman, Nicholas Lee, Benjamin Thompson, Dylan Vogel and Daniel Hansen.

The Conanicut Island Art Association: Grade 5, Ryan Budd, Grade 6, Allegra Gribble, Grade 7, Jacob Morris and Grade 8, Philip Ryng. The International Pease Poster Awards: 1st Place: Olivia McGowan, 2nd Place, Amina Brown 3rd Place, Jessica Bonnot. Honorable Mentions: Connor Downing, Nathan Lambert, Aimee Andrade, Rossibel Kurz, Adam Southworth, Andrew McIntyre, Alex Burke, Olivia Wilcox, Islay Petrie and Sydney Pazera; The Matt Allen Memorial Visual Art Award: Tiffany Wolfe.

Grade 5 Mathematics League Certificate: 1st Place: Nina Diepenbrock, 2nd Place Kaela Kennedy and Emma Vogel, 3rd Place: Benjamin Lee and Raeshelle DeValerio; The Math Counts Competition Awards: Julia Thompson, Victoria Rosa, Adam Southworth, Daniel Gorelick, Catherine Matley, Wesley Barber, Nicholas Lee and Jessica Bonnot; The Velma Moore Memorial Award: Sarah Smith. Perfect Attendance for the Year: In Grade 5, Garrett Bucklin, Riley Greene, Benjamin Stewart and Colin Toth, In Grade 6, Rebecca Barchus, Molly Sylvia and Kevin McDermott, From Grade 7, Tyler Fandetti, Danielle Jennings, Michael Jordan, Jacob Morris and Caitlin Schnack. In Grade 8, Carl DeVellis, Wesley Barber and Michael Schnack. The Friends of the Philomenian Library Award: Kellie Brown and Kaitlyn Godena. The Jamestown Educational Support Personnel Award: Jena Cabrera; The Music Achievement Award: Lacey Segal; The Excellence in Solo Vocalist Award: Hannah Cordes. The Band Director's Award: Catherine Matley. The Louis Armstrong Jazz Band Award: Eric Holtzman. The Best All Around Musician Award: Ailsa Petrie; The Physical Education/ Good Sportsmanship Award: Kaitlin Marquis and Christian Tiexiera. The Ali Dunn-Packer Memorial Scholarship Award: Jessica Brown and Andrew Waddington; The Renaissance Man Award: Hannah Cordes and Philip Ryng; The Highest Academic Achievement Award: Kaitlin Marquis and Eric Holtzman.

Return to top