Farm tools on display at island library
Farming was the primary occupation on Conanicut Island for almost 250 years - from its settlement in the mid-17th century until steam ferries began to bring tourists and summer visitors in the late-19th century. Farming remains an important part of the island culture.
The new exhibit in the Jamestown Historical Society display case in the lobby of the Jamestown library displays some of the farmers' tools and other reminders of the agricultural activity of the last three centuries. Over twenty objects used by island farmers are on display, each with its own identifi- cation number. A key, identifying each numbered item, is on top of the display case.
The objects in the exhibit are selected from the Jamestown Historical Society's collections. The Jamestown Historical Society is an all-volunteer organization dedicated to preserving, collecting and sharing our island's history. Founded in 1912, the Society maintains and operates the Jamestown Museum and three 18th century historic sites, the windmill, the Quaker Meetinghouse and the Conanicut Battery. All sites are open to the public.
The Jamestown Historical Society is a valuable resource for students, educators, historians and anyone interested in learning more about the area's rich heritage. Consider becoming a member today at: www.jamestownhistoricalsociety. org or call 423-0784.