Museum features schoolhouse exhibit
The Jamestown Museum will ring in a new summer season this Sunday, June 29, at 1 p.m. The opening will highlight the Jamestown Historical Society's (JHS) summer exhibit, School Days! How Jamestown Taught its Children. Refreshments will be served by members of Jamestown's Girl Scout Troop #612.
Curated by Harry Wright, the School Days exhibit details the history of education in Jamestown and includes many photographs of students who attended the island's schools. This fascinating glimpse into the past will be appreciated by people of all ages - those school aged to adult.
The JHS Museum building was originally built in 1886 as the town's one-room schoolhouse. From 1898 to 1971 the building was the town's library. In 1971, the Society leased it for use as its museum. The interior of the building was refurbished in 2007 and elements of the original schoolhouse still remain. The renovation of the exterior, including a new walkway, plantings and stone wall, was completed in the spring of 2008. The Museum is open throughout the summer every Wednesday through Sunday from 1 until 4 p.m. All are invited to drop in.
The Jamestown Historical Society (JHS) is an all-volunteer organization dedicated to preserving, collecting and sharing the island's history. Founded in 1912, the JHS maintains and operates the Jamestown Museum and three eighteenth century historic sites: the Windmill, the Quaker Meetinghouse and the Conanicut Battery; all of which are open to the public. JHS is a valuable resource for students, educators, historians and anyone interested in learning more about the area's rich heritage. Consider becoming a member today at www.jamestownhistoricalsociety.org or call 423-0784.