Library exhibit features 1938 hurricane
The exhibit in the Jamestown Historical Society display case in the lobby of the Jamestown Philomenian Library features the 1938 hurricane—the worst storm to hit the area since the gale of 1815.
Photographs, personal accounts and books about the subject from the Jamestown Historical Society's collection tell the story of the storm's effects on the island. On top of the case is a notebook with copies of three letters by persons who experienced the storm in Jamestown, as well as newspaper clippings from the Newport Daily News and additional photographs.
The Jamestown Historical Society is an all-volunteer organization dedicated to preserving, collecting and sharing the island's history. Founded in 1912, the Society maintains and operates the Jamestown Museum and three 18th century historic sites: the Windmill, the Quaker Meetinghouse and the Conanicut Battery in Conanicut Battery Historic Park. All sites are open to the public.
The Jamestown Historical Society is a valuable resource for students, educators, historians and anyone interested in learning more about the area's rich heritage. Consider becoming a member today at www.jamestownhistoricalsociety. org or by calling 423-0784.