Step back in time at Battery Day
The 2009 Battery Day Celebration at Conanicut Battery Historic Park is scheduled for Saturday, May 9. Festivities begin at 1 p.m. and include an authentic encampment by Captain Tew's Company, a reconstituted military unit from the American Revolution. The unit sets up a camp that mirrors a Revolutionary War camp and gives insight into the daily routine of the soldiers who would have manned the Conanicut battlements.
Reenactors playing His Majesty's 54th Regiment of Foot, Regiment Le Bourbonnais, and Ye Olde Lebanon Towne Militia, in the uniforms of their respective country, will join Captain Tew's Company in musket salutes.
The Jamestown Community Band will perform patriotic music. The Artillery Company of Newport will signal the formal flag raising ceremony with a cannon salute across the West Passage.
The battery, built in 1776 by order of the Rhode Island General Assembly, refortified by the British the following year, and later occupied by the French, is one of Rhode Island's few remaining fortifications from the Revolutionary War era.
Members of the American Legion, the Veterans of Foreign Wars, local scout groups, and French and British representatives will raise the flags of the three countries that manned the Battery.
To get to Conanicut Battery Park, travel south on Beavertail Road toward the southern point of the island. The first road on the right south of the Fort Getty turnoff is Battery Lane. Follow the signs down Battery Lane to the park. A shuttle bus will be located at Mackerel Cove as parking is limited at the Battery.
The day is sponsored by the Friends of the Conanicut Battery and the Jamestown Historical Society and is partially funded by a Rhode Island Legislative grant secured for the society by Rep. Deborah Ruggiero.
The Jamestown Historical Society is an all-volunteer organization dedicated to preserving, collecting and sharing our island's history. Founded in 1912, the society maintains and operates the Jamestown Museum and three eighteenth-century historic sites: the old town Windmill, the Quaker Meetinghouse, and the Conanicut Battery - all of which are open to the public free of charge. JHS is a valuable resource for students, educators, historians and anyone interested in learning more about the area's rich heritage.