2009-05-28 / News


Froberg receives master's degree

Island native Lt. Cmdr. Kenneth J. Froberg Jr., a U.S. Navy pilot, recently received a master's degree in aeronautical science from Embry- Riddle Aeronautical University in Norfolk, Va.

Along with his flight duties, he is department head of safety in his squadron, VAW-113 Early Warning E2C Hawkeyes, stationed at Point Mugu, Calif.

He has accumulated over 2200 hours in naval aircraft along with over 220 carrier arrested landings.

Froberg is on deployment with the Battle Strike Force CVW-14 on the aircraft carrier U.S.S. Ronald Regan in the Pacific and places unknown.

Ken and his wife, Sarah and their three children make their home at Point Mugu.

Crowell and McCarthy honored as scholar leaders

Shannah Crowell and Andrew McCarthy, students at Jamestown Lawn Avenue School, were honored as Middle Level Scholar Leaders at a banquet on May 19 at the West Valley Inn in West Warwick.

Criteria for the award included demonstrating academic initiative and scholarship, providing service to classmates and school, exemplifying positive attitudes and demonstrating leadership in the classroom and school activities.

Over 270 students, educators and parents attended the banquet to celebrate the achievements of the middle-level students who are representative of the many fine young adolescents in all middle level schools in the state of Rhode Island.

The event was organized by the Rhode Island Middle Level Educators and the New England League of Middle Schools.

Congressman Jim Langevin and Senator Sheldon Whitehouse provided official citations to each student at this year's event.

Westlake elected to life member group

The Rhode Island Federation of Garden Clubs elected Gloria Westlake as vice-chairman of its Life Member Group at a meeting/luncheon at the Wannamoisett Country Club in Rumford on May 21.

Gloria is a past president, vice president and currently a member of the Quononoquott Garden Club of Jamestown.

The Life Member Group meets twice annually to raise money for scholarships. These are awarded to deserving students in the areas of horticulture, botany, landscape architecture and environmental studies.

Return to top