Jamestown Historical Society opens windmill, meetinghouse
The Jamestown Historical Society summer officially starts this weekend. On Saturday, June 20, the old Jamestown Windmill opens for the summer. The Conanicut Friends Meetinghouse will also have its annual open house.
Both sites are open to the public on Saturday from 1 to 4 p.m.
Everyone who has volunteered to be a greeter at the windmill this summer is encouraged to attend the opening day for orientation and review of windmill procedures. Training for volunteers at the museum is scheduled for this Saturday, June 20, from 1 to 4 p.m.
On Sunday, June 21, the JHS museum summer exhibit “Educating Jamestown: Then and Now” will open with a reception and tour of both the museum and the JHS vault from 1 to 4 p.m.
The JHS vault is in the Jamestown Town Hall basement, which is across the street from the museum, houses the society’s collection of archives, textiles, photographs, and other special items. Visitors during the open house will see how material is stored and cataloged and how to retrieve information from the catalogue software program.
After this weekend, the windmill will be open from 1 to 4 p.m. on Saturdays and Sundays through Oct. 12, as well as July 4 and Labor Day.
The museum will be open from Wednesdays through Sundays until mid-September. The meetinghouse is open by appointment, and all are invited to attend the Quaker meeting at 10:30 a.m. on Sundays.
The vault and all other sites are always open by appointment.
The JHS is an all-volunteer organization dedicated to preserving, collecting and sharing our island’s history. Founded in 1912, the JHS maintains and operates four historic sites: the museum, the windmill, the Conanicut Friends meetinghouse and the 1776 Conanicut Battery. JHS is a valuable resource for students, educators, historians, and anyone interested in learning more about the area’s rich heritage. Consider becoming a member today at www.jamestownhistoricalsociety.org or call 423-0784.