2009-10-29 / Front Page

Islanders to vote this Tuesday

Jamestown voters will head to the polls this Tuesday, Nov. 3, to elect a new slate of Town Council members, School Committee members and the town moderator.

Polls open at 8 a.m. and close at 9 p.m.

There are three polling places in Jamestown: The community center, Lawn Avenue School and Melrose School. District 1 votes at the community center, district 2 votes at Lawn Avenue School and district 3 votes at Melrose School.

Voters who are unsure of their district can visit www.jamestownri. net/canvas/district.html.

This year’s election includes one unopposed incumbent candidate for town moderator: Democrat James A. Donnelly is running for a two-year term.

Voters will also elect five new Town Council members, each for a two-year term. Candidates include Democrat Michael G. White, Democrat Robert D. Bowen, Democrat William H. Murphy, Democrat Robert W. Sutton, Jr. Democrat Michael F. Schnack, Independent Michael F. Smith and Independent Ellen Winsor.

Voters will also elect three new School Committee members, each for a four-year term. Candidates include Democrat Catherine L. Kaiser, Democrat Dana K. Long, Democrat Julia Held and Independent Sav Rebecchi.

In addition to choosing new council and school committee members, voters will also be asked to approve or reject 12 amendments to the Jamestown Home Rule Charter. A full sample ballot – including the amendments – is available at www.jamestownri.net/ canvas/SampleBallot.pdf. A copy of the Town Charter is available for reference at www.jamestownri. net/canvas/CHARTER.pdf.

There are currently 4,642 registered voters in Jamestown.

Return to top