2010-05-13 / News

Fire dept. elects officers at annual meeting

The Jamestown Fire Department held its 119th annual meeting recently, during which the following members were elected to lead the department over the next year: Chief James R. Bryer Jr.; Deputy Chiefs Kenneth M. Gladding, Howard F. Tighe and Steven J. Tiexiera; Engine 1 Capt. Marcus L. Cochran and Lt. William R. Marsh; Engine 2 Capt. Thomas LaFazia and Lt. John H. Brittain III; Engine 3 Sr. Capt. Brian D. Bryer and Lt. Stephen P. Froberg; Ladder 1 Capt. Peter S. Roderick and Lt. Gary C. Largess; Tanker Company Capt. James R. Bryer Sr. and Lt. Paul B. Balzer Jr. and Training Company Capt. James P. Ingari and Lt. Pierre Pages.

Cheryl Serpa, Colleen Schnack, Marlene Murphy, Prim Bullock and Maryann Joyce were also appointed as active members and assigned to the rescue company. A special presentation was given to former Capt. Thomas Lathan, who was made an honorary member of the department. Lathan, a third-generation firefighter in the department, has spent countless hours restoring the Firefighter Memorial Museum.

Appreciation was also given to Valmont “Bucky” Caswell and former Chief Joseph W. Tiexiera.

The all-volunteer department, which currently has 92 active members, responds to approximately 350 calls for assistance annually.

Return to top