2010-09-09 / News

Don’t forget to vote this Tuesday

This Tuesday, Sept. 14, is primary election day. Registered island voters can vote at the Jamestown recreation center at 41 Conanicus Ave. between 8 a.m. and 9 p.m.

The recreation center will be the only island polling place for this election, according to Karen Montoya, clerk to the Board of Canvassers.

All register Republicans, Democrats and unaffiliated voters are eligible to vote, Montoya said. Only declared Moderate party voters may not vote in this election, she said.

Unaffiliated voters who would like to vote in either the Republican or Democratic primary may come in and declare which primary they’d like to vote in, vote in the primary of their choice and disaffi liate after casting their vote, Montoya said. Officials will be on hand to assist in this process.

Candidates on the Democratic ballot include David Cicilline, William Lynch, Anthony Gemma and David Segal for the first Congressional district; Frank Caprio, governor; Elizabeth Roberts and Jeremy Kapstein, lieutenant governor; Ralph Mollis and Leonidas Raptakis, secretary of state; Peter Kilmartin, Stephen Archambault and Joseph Fernandez, attorney general; Gina Raimondo, treasurer; Teresa Paiva-Weed, Senate District 13, R.I. General Assembly; and Deborah Ruggiero, Representative District 74, R.I. General Assembly.

Candidates on the Republican ballot include John Loughlin II and Kara Russo for the first Congressional district; John Robitaille and Victor Moffitt, governor; Heidi Rogers and Kara Russo, lieutenant governor; Catherine Terry Taylor, secretary of state; Erik Wallin, attorney general; Kernan King, treasurer; Geoffrey Cook, Senate District 13, R.I. General Assembly; and Anthony Mastrostefano, Representative District 74, R.I. General Assembly.

Call 423-9804 if you have questions about voting in Tuesday’s primary election.

Return to top