2011-06-09 / News


North Kingstown announces third-quarter honor roll

North Kingstown High School recently announced its honor roll for the third quarter. Jamestown residents who achieved high honors, which requires students to attain a 90 or better average, included freshmen Ellissa Barclay de Tolly, Hollister Bobola, Jonathan Carney, Faith Chadwick, Isabel Crabtree, Nina Diepenbrock, Sofia Greco-Byrne, Samuel Hollister, Kerry Kardosz, Dana Larkin, Kristjana McCarthy, Jameson Mielde, Roma Patel, Emma Vogel and Payton Wallace.

Also, sophomores Rebecca Barchus, Devin Bridgman, Amina Brown, Rachel Bryer, Fiona Christie, Nathan Lambert, Talley Larkin, Cara Liberati, Luke Lis, Andrew McCarthy, Sydney Pazera, John Ragland and Sophia Sanchez.

Also, juniors Ellen Bednarczyk, Courtney Bratton, Samantha Leonard, Emily Levy, Steven Moorehead, Jacob Morris, Jessica Rudman, Caitlin Schnack, Sarah Smith and Georgia Wright.

Also, seniors Benjamin Alcini, Matthew Baptista, Jessica Brown, Kellie Brown, Jena Cabrera, Caia Diepenbrock, Liliane Flour, Eric Holtzman, Kaitlin Marquis, Chandler Neale, Benjamin North and Noah Robinson.

Jamestown residents who achieved honors, which requires students to attain a grade between 85 and 89, included freshmen Kelsey Chidester, Spencer Dalrymple, Travis Earley, Jasper Flour, Margot Janson, Kaela Kennedy, Benjamin Lee, Rex Leonard, Joseph Mc- Donough, Meryl Nelson-Lee, Tara Petrie, Benjamin Rudman and Rebecca Small.

Also, sophomores Aimee Andrade, Allison Bew, Alexander Burke, Shannah Crowell, Nicholas Ferguson, Justin Healey, Owen Heath, Kaleigh Kershaw, Andrew MacIntyre, Kevin McDermott, Matthew Rafanelli, Victoria Rosa, Molly Sheekey, John Tregenza and Olivia Wilcox.

Also, juniors Andrew Burrows, John Clarke, Brandon Cook, Brandon Cook, Allison Dalrymple, Nicholas Fay, Jacob Gomez, Daneil Gorelick, Hayden Maclean, Nicole Perez, Alicia Ruscito, Shannon Sheekey, Elizabeth Tarantino and Madeline White.

Also, seniors Carla Aveledo, Wesley Barber, Casey Brown, Clayton Caswell, Ashley Dougherty, Ashlin Gillis, Catherine Matley, Lauren McDonough, Kayla Miller, Revokata Nzinahora, Romil Patel, Ailsa Petrie, Morgan Piela, Megan Salt, Michael Schnack, Jacqueline Tanguay and Cameron Toppa.

Connecticut College graduates islanders

Islanders Michael Marshall and Katrina Salk both graduated from Connecticut College and were awarded bachelor’s degrees during a ceremony on May 22.

Marshall majored in a studentdesigned interdisciplinary, while Salk graduated with a degree in biological sciences.

Both students were on the school’s sailing team.

Vidaurre graduates college with honors

Jamestowner Grace Samantha Smith Vidaurre was one of 299 members of Haverford College’s class of 2011. She graduated with high honors and is the daughter of William and Rosita Smith. She attended high school at Moses Brown and received her bachelor’s degrees in biology and Spanish.

The titles of Smith Vidaurre’s Senior Theses were “Investigating How the Huntingtin N-Terminus Contributes to Polyglutamine Aggregation With A Thiol-Reactive Probe (Biology)” and “Escriatura no es de aqui: Constelaciones de transformacion y la invasion de la barbarie en 2666 de Roberto Bolano


Smith Viduarre conducted her thesis research for biology with Haverford Professor Rob Fairman.

Lawn students named to honor society

On May 26, 15 students from Lawn Avenue School were inducted into the National Junior Honor Society. The new members are Samara Ayvazian-Hancock, Shelby Coppinger, Emma Dorau, Jamie Gillette, Emily Kallfelz, Elisabeth LaMantia, Zachary Neronha, Leigh Ann Rodgers, Emily Schott, Abigail Shukan, Noah Simmons, Natalie Toland, Rachel Warner, Lily Wright and Gabriel Zelaya- Rincon.

Melrose teacher earns Presidential Award

Two Rhode Island educators awarded the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching recently met with U.S. Congressman David Cicilline in his Pawtucket office for additional honors and conversation.

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Math and Science is given annually to exceptional K-12 math and science teachers throughout the United States.

Charlene Tuttle, a fourthgrade science teacher at Melrose

Avenue School in Jamestown, and Beverlee-Ann Powell, a first-grade math teacher at Oakland Beach Elementary School in Warwick, were selected for this prestigious award by a group of scientists, mathematicians and fellow educators after a primary selection process was completed in Rhode Island.

“Exceptional students begin with exceptional teachers,” said Cicilline. “Every child deserves a chance for success – especially in the critical subject areas of math and science – and in Rhode Island, we have some of the nation’s proven top educators. I congratulate Beverlee-Ann Powell and Charlene Tuttle for their high honors. They are true examples of the fine educators all across our state.”

Both Tuttle and Powell received $10,000 from the National Science Foundation and enjoyed an all expenses paid trip to Washington, D.C. for their awards ceremony and celebratory events with Members of Congress and the Administration.

Island student named to dean’s list at F.I.T.

Jon-Michael Degidio of Jamestown was named to the dean’s list at Florida Institute of Technology for the spring semester, which ended in May. Degidio is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in marine biology.

To qualify for the dean’s list, a student must complete 12 or more graded credits in a semester with a semester grade point average of at least 3.4.

Return to top