2011-06-09 / News

Hundreds compete in 10th and final Ali’s Run at Fort Getty

The 10th annual Ali’s Run took place Sunday at Fort Getty and Keven O’Neil continued his dominance of the road race, winning for the fifth consecutive year and for the ninth time in the race’s history.

O’Neil, a resident of North Kingstown, completed the 5k course in 16 minutes, 07 seconds, better than nearly 400 participants. He finished 18 seconds ahead of runner-up Zach Seites- Rundlett, also of North Kingstown, and nearly a full minute ahead of Taylor Days-Merrill (Fairhaven, Mass.), who came in third.

2011 marked the final year for the road race. Ali’s Run was created in memory of Ali Dunn Packer who was killed in a car accident in June 2001 at the age of 15. The race benefits the “activities that Ali cherished.” Some examples of beneficiaries are the Jamestown Soccer Association, Providence Children’s Museum, the North Kingstown High School track and field program, the Buttonhole Golf Foundation for Children, and many others.

Trying to defend his title for the fourth consecutive year, Keven O’Neil (shirt) had to play catchup with Zack Seites-Rundlett, both from North Kingstown. 
Photos by Andrea von Hohenleiten Trying to defend his title for the fourth consecutive year, Keven O’Neil (shirt) had to play catchup with Zack Seites-Rundlett, both from North Kingstown. Photos by Andrea von Hohenleiten In the January 2010 issue of New England Runner Magazine, Ali’s Run was named one of New England’s top 80 races.

O’Neil has dominated the race since its inception in 2002. In its inaugural year, only a 5k was held, and O’Neil posted a time that is still the course record (15:49). In 2003, Ali’s Run added a 10k race in addition to the 5k, which O’Neil won. He defended his 10k title in 2004 (32:23, a course record) and 2005, but didn’t participate in 2006. In 2007, Ali’s Run got rid of the 10k race. Following his one-year hiatus from the event in 2006, O’Neil has won the 5k each year since.

This year’s women’s champion was Laura Johnson (North Kingstown), who finished 17th overall with a time of 20:55. Sarah Pardus (21:20, Stratham, Mass.) and Kay Miller (21:30, Boston, Mass.) rounded out the women’s top three.

For Jamestowners, Madison Hansen (19:52, 10th overall) had the fastest men’s time, and Nicole Perez (23:12, 44th, seventh overall for women) had the fastest women’s time.

Other islanders that posted times inside the top 50 were Ben Coerper (11th), Tom Carney (12th), Jeremy Wigton (19th), Nathanael Hines (33rd), Bob Vickers (35th), Darel Harpool (36th), Josh Drummond (38th), Benjamin Lee (46th), Jacob Morris (47th) and Kevin McDermott (49th).

Stephanie Cotsonas (51st, eighth overall for women) and Holly Huffine (71st, 13th overall for women) had the second and third best times for Jamestown women. Nearly a quarter of the field (98 out of 399) were from the island. The last time an islander won a race was when Stephen Walsh won back-to-back 5k titles in 2005 and 2006; in 2005, he defeated fellow islanders Nate Wigton, who finished runner-up, and Owen White, who finished fourth.

The other 301 runners came from all over, including Massachusetts, Connecticut, New York, New Hampshire and Florida.

Along with the USATF-certifi ed open 5k, Ali’s Run held races for all age groups, including a half-mile Fun Run for children 10 years old and under.

Top Jamestown Finishers
10. Madison Hansen
11. Ben Coerper
12. Tom Carney
19. Jeremy Wigton
33. Nathanael Hines
35. Bob Vickers
36. Darel Harpool
38. Josh Drummond
44. Nicole Perez
46. Benjamin Lee
47. Jacob Morris
49. Kevin McDermott
51. Stephanie Cotsonas
52. Nick Ornmmond
55. Scott Raupp
56. John Heffernan
58. Sean Fisher
60. John Rafanelli
61. Joe Tamburini
66. Brad Gaudreau
71. Holly Huffine
74. Steve Furtado
75. Ralph Conte
78. Jackson Hawkins
82. George Cadwalader
85. Brooke Warener
89. Kevin Gaudeau
92. Felicia Tutsch
93. Drew MacIntyre
106. Liz Perez
107. Sophie Primiano
110. Jacob Gomez
113. Jill Ball
117. Brendan Crawford
126. Heather Carney
154. Ken Littman
155. Michael Kareta
156. Michael Montoya
157. Mackenzie Montoya
158. David Montayn
164: Lisa Fisher
170. Steven Turilli
173. Jana Magarian
178. Sam Cowan
187. Sharon Poisson
194. Anne Turilli

Return to top