2011-09-22 / News

ITHF names Stan Smith president of organization

Former world No. 1 tennis player and past U.S. Open and Wimbledon champion Stan Smith has been named president of the International Tennis Hall of Fame & Museum.

Smith, who was inducted to the Hall of Fame in 1987, will succeed legendary tennis player and 1970 Hall of Famer Tony Trabert, who has served as hall of fame president since 2001.

Trabert has been named a life trustee of the nonprofit organization, which is dedicated to preserving the rich history of tennis. The appointment of Smith as president was announced on Sept. 9 at the hall of fame’s annual meeting in New York City.

Also at the meeting, 13 new members were elected to the board of directors. Former board members Jefferson T. Barnes, Alan Hassenfeld, Kay Koplovitz and Thomas A. James are all returning to the board.

The newly elected board members are Claudio Del Vecchio, Guillaume de Ramel, Michael F. Goss, Frew Mc- Millan, Tim Phillips, John J. Ross II, Todd Traina and Gene Yoon.

“We are pleased to welcome Stan Smith, who is not only a great champion of the game, but also a dedicated supporter of tennis to the role of president,” said Christopher E. Clouser, chairman of the International Tennis Hall of Fame & Museum. “It is also a pleasure to welcome the new directors, all of whom bring an array of talent and expertise to the organization. Their active participation will be a tremendous resource for the International Tennis Hall of Fame & Museum as we strive to preserve the history of tennis and inspire its future “

Additionally, the following officers were re-elected: Christopher E. Clouser as chairman; Donald L. Dell as vice chairman; Barbara A. Georgescu as vice chairman; Mark L. Stenning as chief executive officer; Nancy von Auersperg as treasurer; and Peggy H. Woolard as secretary.

The new members of the board of directors will begin their terms immediately. Each will serve the organization in various capacities ranging from oversight of the extensive museum to development of the hall of fame’s annual ATP World Tour tennis tournament and Hall of Fame induction programs, as well as in other important departments such as fundraising and marketing.

Return to top