2012-06-28 / Front Page

16 declare for candidacy for Town Council

Sixteen island residents declared candidacy for the Jamestown Town Council by the filing deadline at Town Hall on Wednesday, June 7. It will be the largest slate of Town Council candidates in recent memory.

All five sitting town councilors will seek re-election. Bob Bowen, Mike White, Bill Murphy and Town Council President Michael Schnack will run as Democrats. Ellen Winsor, the fifth incumbent, filed as an Independent.

The Republican Party will have two candidates who will seek a two-year seat on the council. Blake Dickinson, the president of the Taxpayers’ Association of Jamestown, and Paul Sprague, owner of the Island Scoop, both filed yesterday.

The other nine candidates are split between Independents and Democrats. Mary Meagher, Eugene Mihaly, Thomas Tighe, Kristine Trocki and George Levesque will run in the Democratic primary. Dan Capuano, William Harsch, Evan Katz and William Marsh filed as Independents.

The School Committee only has three seats that will be open for election due to staggered terms. The three seats have sitting committee members who will run for re-election as incumbents – Sav Rebecchi, North Kingstown High School liaison Julia Held and Chairwoman Cathy Kaiser. Rebecchi is an Independent and the other two incumbents are Democrats. A third Democrat, Ryan Conlon, will also run for one of the three seats.

In the General Assembly, the 2012 ballot will look similar to 2010. Deb Ruggiero, the Democrat incumbent, will again face Republican Anthony Mastrostefano. Mastrostefano finished second behind Ruggiero in a three-way race for state representative two years ago. In the Senate, Democrat Teresa Paiva Weed, the current president of the legislative body, will be challenged by Republican Geoffrey William Cook. Paiva Weed defeated Cook handily in the 2010 election with 66 percent of the vote. She is seeking her 11th term.

Democrat Sheldon Whitehouse will seek re-election in the U.S. Senate. Running against him will be Republican Ben Hinckley, Independents Todd Giroux, Dany Laporte, Christopher Reynolds and David Slavin, and Vigilant Fox member Gregory Raposa.

Democrat incumbent David Cicilline will seek a second term in the U.S. House of Representatives First District. He will face three other candidates in the primary for Democratic nomination: Anthony Gemma, Christopher Young and Ann Marie Delaney.

Also running will be First District will be Republicans Brendan Doherty and Michael Donahue, Independents Michael Blake and David Vogel, and Kenneth Capalbo, who is unaffiliated.

For town moderator, only Democrat John A. Murphy declared for candidacy.

The deadline to register to vote in the Sept. 11 party primaries is Aug. 12. The deadline to register in the Nov. 6 general election is Oct. 7.

Return to top