2012-06-28 / News

Islanders declare candidacy for office


Registered voters in Jamestown should have plenty of options this year when they go to polls. As of Wednesday morning, four of the five sitting Town Council members threw their hats into the ring and will seek re-election. The incumbents are Town Council President Michael Schnack, Bob Bowen, Bill Murphy and Mike White, all Democrats. Ellen Winsor, an independent in the last election, has yet to file.

Also running for Town Council are Democratic candidates George Levesque, Kristine Trocki, Mary Meagher and Eugene Mihaly. The lone Republican to declare so far as a candidate for Town Council is Blake Dickinson, the president of the Taxpayers’ Association of Jamestown. But according to Amy Gallagher, chairwoman of the Jamestown Republican Committee, other GOP members were expected to announce their candidacy Wednesday afternoon. Deadline was 4 p.m.

There will be at least five independents on this year’s ballot. They are Bill Harsch, Dan Capuano, William Marsh and Evan Katz.

Democratic candidates running for School Committee include Ryan Conlon and incumbents Julia Held and sitting Chairwoman Cathy Kaiser.

For the District 74 seat in the state House of Representatives, incumbent Deb Ruggiero will seek re-election. She will be opposed by Republican Anthony Mastrostefano. In the 2010 election, Mastrostefano finished second in a three-way race for the seat. He received 1,601 votes (31 percent). Ruggiero won with 2,708 votes – nearly 53 percent.

As of early Wednesday afternoon, Senate President Teresa Paiva Weed was running unopposed. She won in a landslide in 2010 with 66 percent of the vote.

The lone resident on the island to declare candidacy for town moderator as of press time was John A. Murphy.

Residents had until 4 p.m. yesterday to declare their candidacy. The Jamestown Press had to go to print by 2 p.m. Check Jamestown Press.com for the updated list of who will run for office in 2012.

Return to top