2012-06-28 / News of Record


Island teens recognized for achievements

• Jessica Safford, a 2012 graduate of North Kingstown High School, was the recipient of the Marine Corps’ Semper Fidelis Award for musical excellence. The award was presented at May’s symphonic band awards concert. Safford participated in the symphonic band as first flute throughout her high school years, and plans to continue playing in college.

• Matthew Jewell-DeMieri, son of Paul and Katharine Jewell-DeMieri, recently received a Navy ROTC scholarship and will attend Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in the fall. He graduated from Portsmouth Abbey School last month.

• Max Liebhauser, a student at Providence Country Day School and a member of the Class of 2016, received awards for outstanding effort and achievement in Latin, history, science and mathematics. Liebhauser was also the recipient of the Williams College Book Award, given to the most outstanding middle-school student for combined scholastic achievement and extracurricular participation and leadership potential.

• John Mayers, who graduated from Providence Country Day School last month, received the secretary of state’s Civic Leadership Award. The award recognizes proven leadership in school government or other community organizations, demonstrated commitment to community service, and the ability to inspire others to get involved in community service.

• Alexander Boghossian and TJ Thran both graduated from Rocky Hill School last month. Boghossian will attend Curry College in the fall, while Thran, who graduated cum laude and received the Dr. Richard R. MacMahon Science Award, will attend the University of Vermont. TJ was also named to the end-of-the-year honor roll.

• Michael Liebhauser and Georgia Wright were named the recipients for the Jamestown Community Theatre’s Patti Vandal Award. The $1,000 grants are given annually to two high school seniors from Jamestown.

• Eight islanders were named to the honor roll for the spring term at St. Michael’s Country Day School in Newport, including fifth-graders Teddy Anderson, Sheila Joyce, Colby Richardson and Olivia Supron; sixth-graders Aidan Novis and Grace Siwicki; seventh-grader Alex Supron; and eighth-grader Witt Tarantino.

Return to top