2012-07-26 / News of Record

Four island nonprofits receive grants

The Rhode Island Foundation recently announced grants totaling $9,230 to four Jamestown-based nonprofit organizations supported through two special funds established to benefit Jamestown residents: The Jamestown Community Fund and the Jamestown Fund for the Performing Arts.

The funds are affiliated with the foundation’s Newport County Fund, which seeks to improve the lives of Newport County residents. The Jamestown Community Fund was established at the Rhode Island Foundation in 2001 by island residents Joseph and Nancy Logan in 2001. It has distributed 45 grants totaling nearly $48,000.

The Jamestown Fund for the Performing Arts, established at the foundation in 1983 to support the performing arts in Jamestown, has awarded 37 grants totaling more than $28,000. Beneficiaries included:

• Jamestown Community Chorus, $1,000: The grant will help the chorus sustain its growth and ensure that membership fees and ticket prices do not exclude anyone who would like to sing with the group or attend its concerts.

• Conanicut Island Land Trust, $5,000: The grant will support a project that will help transform Godena Farm into an educational and recreational trail system for the public.

• Jamestown Education Foundation, $2,160: These funds will be used to enhance the afterschool strings program held in the Jamestown schools.

• Jamestown Historical Society, $1,070: This grant will support a historic tourism project to develop brochures and signs for self-guided tours of Jamestown with the goal of expanding the historical knowledge of residents and visitors.

The Jamestown awards were announced as part of the 2012 Newport County Fund grants totaling $182,183 to 25 nonprofit organizations. Since it was established in 2002, the Newport County Fund has awarded nearly $2.3 million to programs and projects that sustain and strengthen the six Newport County communities: Jamestown, Little Compton, Middletown, Newport, Portsmouth and Tiverton.

“This year, as the Rhode Island Foundation celebrates the first decade of the [Newport County Fund], we are proud to support these programs that make a difference every single day to the people of Newport County,” said Neil D. Steinberg, president of the foundation. “We are grateful for our generous donors and for the volunteer advisory committee of residents and community leaders that guides the [fund], keeping it closely connected and informed about the community it serves.”

Chaired by James Wright of Jamestown, the Newport County Fund volunteer advisory committee includes Cheryl L. Abney, Elizabeth Finn, Kristen Humphrey, Mary C. Johnstone, Leland R. Merrill, Jr., John Murphy, Trish Sylvester and William E. West.

Return to top