2013-05-30 / News of Record


Jamestown student makes dean’s list

Michael Brendlinger was named to the dean’s list at Worcester Poly­technic Institute for the spring semester. The Jamestown resident is a junior majoring in robotics engineering. He was one of 1,340 under­graduates to meet the criteria.

Islanders earn college degrees

• Islander Spencer Alexander received his master’s degree in architecture from the Illinois Insti­tute of Technology. He previously received a bachelor’s degree in economics from the University of Rochester.

• Jamestown resident Caleb Al­exander received his white coat in veterinarian medicine from the University of Minnesota. He will spend the next year doing an ex­ternship in the Rhode Island area.

• Elizabeth Mansfield of James­town recently graduated summa cum laude from Rhode Island College with a bachelor’s degree in nursing. Other islanders who graduated from Rhode Island Col­lege include Charles Matley III, who earned his bachelor’s degree, and Laura Goldstein, who earned a master’s degree in nursing.

• Islander Emily Falces gradu­ated cum laude with a double ma­jor in music and mathematics from Mouth Holyoke College in South Hadley, Massachusetts. She re­ceived the Helen Blyth Hazen Mu­sic Prize for being the outstand­ing senior whose work integrated music history, theory and perfor­mance.

• Twenty-three Jamestown resi­dents graduated from the Univer­sity of Rhode Island. They were Mary Brennan, public administra­tion; Andrew Bretti, kinesiology; Alexander Clarke, anthropology; Russell Dunn, pharmacy; Crystal Dymon, nursing; Brian McDevitt, psychology; Nolan McCaffrey, economics; Ryan McDermott, communications; Kate Moreau, marine affairs; Shannon Muldoon, speech-language pathology; Ian O’Dwyer, mathematics and sec­ondary education; and William Reardon, marketing.

Also, Amy Ritter, nursing; Mi­chael Robinson, anthropology; Allison Seelig, nursing; Nathan Seelig, mechanical engineering; Phillip Twombly, philosophy; Molly Welsh, environmental sci­ence; Courteny Westall, human de­velopment; Jeremy Wigton, com­munications and general business administration; Alyson Yeomans, human development; Jenny Mor­gan Zubof, political science; and Peter Zubof, political science.

Lawn students named to honor society

More than 20 students from Lawn Avenue School were recently named to the National Junior Honor Society. Students must have a GPA of at least 3.75 to qualify.

Seventh-graders honored were Noah Alves, Travis Atwood, Kaitlyn Brayman, Olivia Clarke, Caroline Crabtree, Matthew Freden, Emma MacIntyre, Joshua Neronha, Juliana Ruggieri, Alisa Smith, Honor Stackpole and Madison Tregenza.

Eighth-graders honored were Anna Goldsmith, Eliza Kallfelz, Emma Lennon, Jacob Maguire, Madison Maguire, Meghann Maguire, Anna­belle O’Neill, Sophie Primiano, Josefina Ruggieri, Erica Smith, Bailey Thran, Camryn Wallace and Brooke Warner.

Return to top