R.I. minimum wage to increase to $8
The Rhode Island General Assembly has approved and Gov. Lincoln Chafee has signed into law legislation to increase Rhode Island’s minimum wage to $8 per hour, beginning January 1, 2014.
Rhode Island’s current minimum wage of $7.75 went into effect this January, as a result of legislation passed by the General Assembly last session.
The $8 minimum wage will make Rhode Island’s wage the third highest in New England, tied with Massachusetts at $8 and behind Vermont at $8.60 and Connecticut at $8.25.