May 11, 2017 RSS feed / News

Town considers plastic bag ban

On the same night Middletown passed an ordinance banning plastic grocery bags, two Jamestown women asked their town councilors to consider the same measure.  More...

1952 Farmall tractor gets new home on farm

Machine passed down from Dutras to Brayman family

Long before Newport settlers used Conanicut Island for cattle grazing, the Narragansett Indians had been cultivating the land for centuries. The residents of Jamestown, incorporated in 1678, primarily were farmers and fishermen. More...

RECREATION CENTER THROUGH THE YEARS

1884 — The Gardner House was built on the land off Conanicus Avenue facing East Ferry wharf. The large summer hotel closed in the 1930s, a victim of the Great Depression. More...

HELPING HANDS

Jamestown Rotarian Mo Gaitonde presents a $1,000 check to Alyson Novick, director of development at the Martin Luther King Jr. Community Center in Newport. More...

Caterpillars back; damage temporary

Landowners are expected to shriek as the army of gypsy moth caterpillars marches into Jamestown, but state environmental officials are reminding them that no long-term damage is expected.  More...

BIRD CALLING

Among the spring migrants singing songs last week on the South Pond trail was this white-eyed vireo, which migrates to Cuba for the winter. For 33rd consecutive year, Audubon board member Candy Powell is hosting the annual bird count at 6:30 a.m. More...

Lawn students make history

Seven Lawn School eighth-graders competed in the state’s National History Day qualifier at Rhode Island College, including three students who walked away from the April 29 contest with awards. More...

Mother’s Day recital showcases Mozart, Liszt

Mother’s Day in Jamestown wouldn’t be complete without Manabu Takasawa serenading women on the 7-foot Schimmel grand for the 11th consecutive spring.  More...

EAST FERRY TIDE CHART

MAY 4 - MAY 11
Full Story