2018-06-28 / Front Page

8 will vie for town council

Primaries scheduled for both chambers in Congress

When the town council is elected in November, it will be the first time in six years without Kristine Trocki at the helm. 

While on vacation Tuesday in Martha’s Vineyard, the three-term council president confirmed she will not run for re-election. Her Democratic colleagues, incumbents Mike White, Gene Mihaly and Mary Meagher, declared for re-election.  

New faces on the Democratic slate are Cynthia Long-Rateron and Randy White, a retired state prosecutor who was a driving force in the successful 2017 campaign to prohibit target shooting. Also, Democratic Town Moderator John A. Murphy will seek re-election. 

On the GOP side, incumbent Blake Dickinson will seek his fourth consecutive term. He has been the lone Republican on the council since he was first elected in 2012. Joining him will be Bill Piva, a former policeman and retired director of the parks department. 

Nancy Beye, owner of the Jamestown Early Learning Center, has declared as an independent. 

For the two vacancies on the school committee, Democrats Kristine LaPierre and Keith Roberts will vie for the seats held by B.J. Whitehouse and Sarah Baines. Party mate Sheila Reilly has declared for the two final years of Dorothy Strang’s term. 

At the state legislature, Democratic incumbent Deb Ruggiero again will battle Republican Rebecca Schiff for the District 74 seat in the House. Both women are from town and had the closest and most contenious contest of 2016. In the Senate, Democratic incumbent Dawn Euer will face off against fellow Newporter Matthew Perry, a member of the GOP. 

In the race for the 1st Congressional District, which represents Jamestown, Democrat David Cicilline will seek a fifth term. He will run in a primary against party mates Hamlet M. Lopez and Christopher Young. There also will be a Republican primary between Patrick J. Donovan and Frederick Wysocki. The winners of those primaries will run against independent Daniel Joseph Guilmette for the U.S. House seat. 

There also will be two primaries for the U.S. Senate seat currently occupied by Sheldon Whitehouse, who was first elected in 2006. Looking to unseat him are Democrat Patricia Fontes, Republicans Roque De La Fuente, Robert Flanders and Robert Nardolillo III, and independent Raymond McKay. 

Jamestown resident Peter Neronha, a former U.S. attorney, has filed to run for attorney general. He will face Alan Gordon of the Compassion Party and Charles Picerno, running as an independent.

For the entire slate, including town committees and governor, visit here

Return to top